History & Culture
Tribal Government
Economic Development
Royal River Casino
Contact Us
Friday, May 1, 2009

17th Annual Healthy Start Spring Wacipi


Pictured above l to r: Paula Jo Manwarren, Fannie Armstrong, Brianna Walberg, Emma Rosalind Armstrong, & Robbie Armstrong.

The Flandreau Community Center & Armory was once again full of the soothing and steady sounds of the drums with the dancers of all ages in their full regalia celebrating the new lives that have entered the world this past year. 

The 17th Annual 2009 Healthy Start Spring Wacipi was as much of a success as the previous 16 years Vickie Anderson FSST Healthy Start Coordinator has been organizing and hosting this event along with the help of Shawne Rislov FSST Healthy Start Program Case Manager.

Grand Entry began at 2:00 with the Gordon Weston Indian Veterans Lodge with members from the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate honor guard posted the flags and the eagle staff representing the “38 Dakotas hung in Mankato” was carried by Randy Bernard, a member of the Gordon Indian Veterans Lodge leading the way for the dancers of all ages to follow. The Sisseton Oyate honor guard was also present along with two new members Chuck Laclaire Desert Storm Veteran & Derrick Lapointe Operation Iraqi Freedom Veteran.

At 3:30 pm the Healthy Start Program and the Tribal Child Care Program wish to honor the New Child Care Providers in the community as they provide care and early learning for our young children. A honoring for all the expectant mothers, women who breastfeed their baby will receive a certificate in their honor and women who quit smoking during pregnancy are also included in the honoring.  The Healthy Start Program Coordinator Vickie Anderson and Shawn Rislov FSST Healthy Start Case Manager would want to thank Phyllis Roberts and Carol Iron Moccasin for preparing the Wasna (spirit food) for the honoring.  And they would also like to thank Mike Wakeman for preparing the gifts of dream catchers to all new babies honored.

After the infant honoring the Jr. Miss FSST Healthy Start Princess Contest, the first runner up was Jadeen Hansen of Flandreau, SD, the 2nd runner up was Rhea Joseph of Wagner, SD and Talawne Mirreaux is the new 2009 – 2010 Jr. Miss FSST Healthy Start Princess.

The Healthy Start program would like to thank Betty Taylor for making the shawls for the runner-up’s and for the Jr. Miss FSST Healthy Start Princess and another thank you to Amanda Taylor for making the Jr. Miss FSST Healthy Start sash.


The infants scheduled to be honored are:

Emma Rosalind Armstrong, Jazalynn Beautiful Memarie Kampeska, Kiera Bolin, Zaeda Jae Ross, Alyssa Bianas, Terissa Nichole Taylor, Chante Leanna Grace Allen, Kadin Bigg Leggins, Shannon Lowe Roubideaux & Sheyanne Rose Roubideaux, Chris James Deuchar, Jr., Joslyn Red Feather, Rianna Red Bear & Pheonix Laura Love Lozoya.


Child Care Providers honored are:

Happy Face Place- Stephanie Jungwirth, Nancy Taylor. Jamie Gaspar, Karlie Ormseth, Kylie Ormseth, Tracy Armstrong, Sherry Weston & Teresa Nelson.


Their were fourteen registered drums they are as listed: Northern Scouts of Wausau, WI; Yankton Sioux of Lake Andes, SD; Northern Style of Sisseton, SD; War Necklace, Winner, SD; Mato Pejuta – Sioux City, IA; Red Storm, Sisseton, SD; Young Voices of Flandreau Indian School; Standing Horse of Rapid City, SD; All Nations of Sisseton, SD, Wahpe Kute, of Sisseton, SD; Dakota Toonz of Sisseton, SD;Dakota Trails of Sisseton, SD, Omaha Lodge of Macy Neb., Iyakapta of Sisseton, SD; Dakota Boys of Fort Thompson, SD.   


History & Culture I Tribal Government I Powwows I News
Economic Development I Programs I Employment I Contact Us I Home

Copywright 2005, Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe, All Rights Reserved